Alles wissen

Action to be taken

zol
 zol
Topic starter
(@zol)
Deelgenomen: 7 maanden geleden

Hi All,

It is clear that what eToro is doing is shady, but what actions are we actually taking? 

Some are mentioning lawsuits: are you actually taking legal action against eToro? have you consulted with your lawyer? juridischloket? etc.

Some are mentioning a complaint at KIFID: have you actually complain at KIFID? how can you complain about a non-dutch company? 

Thanks.

13 reacties
MikeW88
(@mikew88)

I'm no lawyer, but I think it's remarkable that eToro has not made a statement saying; "What we are doing is along the lines of the terms and conditions you have agreed with". This makes me think that it's not entirely legal.

However, I have not yet read through the terms and conditions to see if there is anything that covers a case like this.

Has anyone checked this? Does anyone affected have a background in law?

Beantwoorden
ESMC
 ESMC
Admin
(@esmc)

I think for now we should wait and see if Etoro can come up with a decent solution for us before 23/01/21 due to being pressured by us angry users with support mails, contacting our account managers and contacting the media.

Having said that, yes it would definitely be a good idea to look at the legal side of their actions and decisions, because it might be their fault in the first place for not having taken steps on time to register with DNB? I'm quite sure though that their terms and conditions will throw this in the "force majeure, it's not our fault" category of events, which so far results in pushing the negative consequences to their users. That's definitely unethical, not sure if it's illegal.